Difference in focal distance after installing a new "same" lens

Hello,
I’m fairly new to things laser, but have had some successful runs with my 100W laser. The lens that came with the machine was an 18mm 1.5" lens. However, I took the lens out for cleaning and noticed some blemishes. So I ordered another 18mm 1.5" lens (and another with a longer focal length to try later) and installed the new 1.5" lens.

I checked my alignment and ran a ramp test only to find that my “best” focal distance (distance between the laser head tip and my material) is now about 5mm away from the work surface! At this distance, it will cut and engrave with approximately the same settings it did previously, though I note somewhat more scorching on the material surface. Before – with the previous lens – my length between the laser head and material was at 17mm. If I try to engrave at the 17mm distance, the engraving comes out blurry. It seems to work at a very close distance of about 5mm.

Is this normal for the distance to be so close? What am I doing wrong here? It’s frustrating as I was in the midst of a gift project – but I don’t want to go back to using the old lens, either.
Thanks

For now, I went back to my old lens. And it’s working as previous at its normal distance. Not sure what the issue is with the new lens.

That is odd! Lens focus is specified from a “primary focal plane”- a virtual point within a lens that can change with regard to the top or bottom surface depending on its construction. Note that this affects users differently if the lens mount uses the top vs bottom as the fixed mounting point.

But it’s within the lens’ thickness so it can’t be much- like a mm difference at most seems possible. 5mm can’t be explained this way.

I would have suggested “could it somehow be a 2” lens?" but that would be a 12.7mm difference, and you’re reporting 5mm. Never heard of a lens with a 1.75" focus by design, that wouldn’t likely be in inventory intentionally.

1 Like