Engraving and cutting acrylic for my first time

Hi there, any suggestions on the cut speed and power? I have an ortur master 20w.

1 Like

It’s going to depend on the color and thickness of the acrylic you intend to cut. Don’t get your hopes up on cutting clear or blue acrylic.

Give more details on what you want to achieve so people can give you more helpful settings to try.

1 Like

3mm clear acrylic I was gonna try and cut. Is it more difficult to cut clear and blue acrylic? I have a black opaque, gold and silvery glitter acrylic and a mirror acrylic sheet.
I have seen soapy water spread on the clear and it supposedly helps with the cloudiness it leaves on the surface. Have you seen this or attempted it? I was just gonna engrave it with the thin cover on.

The wavelength of a diode laser just goes right through clear materials. Blue materials reflects the blue light of the laser, so it is not absorbed and does not create the heat necessary to cut. your black material would cut great because it absorbs all the laser energy. the gold and silver you will have to experiment on, probably going to be too reflective to work well, and the mirror probably wont work either. What you have seen cutting the acrylic was probably a CO2 laser. The wavelength of light is about 20 times shorter than a diode laser, and the clear/colored material acts completely different at those wavelengths.

1 Like

I’ve had no difficulty cutting/engraving any color acrylic, including clear. So at least give it a try.

Also, I use a masking tape for delicate surfaces to prevent scorching.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/3M-Scotch-1-88-in-x-60-yds-Delicate-Surface-Painter-s-Tape-with-Edge-Lock-2080-48NC/100170037

Boss LS 3655 100w

1 Like

Thanks for the replies, I will give it a shot and come back with the results. I appreciate it.:call_me_hand:t3: