Engraving and cutting leather (1mm) using Apollo 600

I am new to laser engraving and cutting. I am using an Apollo 600 at my local FabLab and they have been brilliant. I will be going today and will find out what controller and firmware is currently running, do I need to ask anything else?
They installed Lightburn (latest version) as the software supplied was terrible. Lightburn defaulted to Ruida but we are struggling with cutting even thin leather - it needs 10 to 12 passes to cut through, engraving is pretty much OK.
We have engraved and cut (2 passes) successfully using the old software. So is the Apollo supported or does it need manual settings or is Ruida OK, and is there anything else I need to ask them to report back here. Thanks from another newbie!

I cannot find a single piece of information about the Apollo 600, other than “it’s a laser cutter” without submitting a “request for information” form on their site. You said “the software supplied was terrible” - Is that RDWorks? If so, it’s a Ruida controller running it.

You haven’t given any mention of what power and speed settings you were using in each software, just that it took many passes. If you had the power set to 10%, it would indeed take many passes. If the cutting speed was 10mm/sec or lower it would also only be using the ‘Min Power’ value, not the Max Power, so that’s another possibility.

If you can provide additional info about the settings used in each piece of software we should be able to figure out what’s different and get you sorted.

1 Like

Hi Oz, neither could I and I looked all over, I did find a PDF giving some details, see list of specs below if useful!

The software supplied with the laser was APS Ethos, this seems to be embroidery software. The original settings for cutting using this software were set to Velocity (!) 50 - Max power 50 - Min power 50 at 4 passes but I was told that more passes were needed for my leather on the original job.