Engraving coasters (If only I could)

I have been trying for quite a few days to get a decent image printed of various Australian native animals onto mdf for testing, and then onto maple timber.

I have so far failed almost entirely. The results ranging from Horrible burnt mess, to what the hell is that?

Is anybody able to show me the right direction please

Tasmanian Tiger.lbrn2 (650.7 KB)

I had a quick look at your file, I’m no expert but the image mode for the tassie tiger would work better as a “dither” not Newsprint. Try Jarvis and also up the resolution to 246dpi/0.1mm interval - and decrease the power to 10%. That should tell you something. Cheers.

Also cover the front with application/transfer tape - or even masking tape. This will get rid of any burnt residue around the image & text.

1 Like

Thanks for that stixstudios. I will go and give that a try right now - not sure if the laser will fire at 10% though. Soon find out though. :grinning:

Well that was heaps better. I was correct that the machine wouldn’t lase below 20%, but apart from that it is almost acceptable. It looks as though it will just need a few minor tweaks now to get a little more definition.

I would show my previous attempts, but you may be eating.

Not too bad, but I would think you should be able to get better than that. But maybe you just have too much power and won’t be able to dial it down regardless.

I have a 40watt and did some experimentation and “proof of concept” testing a while back. Even though the image is small (45mm wide) and low resolution, it doesn’t look too bad from a distance and would probably look reasonable on a coaster:

This was engraved on 3mm MDF.

Also, that Thylacine image could be run through a filter to give it a bit more contrast - which would improve the definition. Worthwhile trying.

Nice image… Probably one that will be tough to reproduce without some work. The size also complicates the ability to reproduce it with any great detail.