Engraving efficiency of Product application VS Lightburn software

Hello all,

I’m new to laser engraving and recently purchased the Atezr P20Plus with a few buddies of mine. It sets up relatively easy and connects to the laser without any known issue. However, working with some calibration pieces we’ve noticed a distinct difference between the application “ATEZR LASER” on the iPhone and the Lightburn software that we’re currently working with. If I were to upload an image to the phone and burn through the application, it seems to auto calibrate and etch the images quite simply. They may not be of the best quality, but they’re etched quickly and are distinct with little to no editing of the image. On the other hand, after producing an etching calibration chart with LightBurn with respect to power and speed, Choosing the settings and editing the image, LightBurn seems to etch the images quite slowly.

I’ve looked at a number of forum topics and videos referring to the S-value setup and checking $$30. Everything is set to 1000. I’m assuming it is 1000 because during set up we used “find device” and it appears to have pulled the settings from the laser. I can’t see recommendations for this posted anywhere on their sites or elsewhere. Using the sample wood materials that came with the machine and some tumblers we have laying around, we’re running about 30% power at 10mm/s to get our most crisp calibration. Faster at higher power produces a significantly faded image while higher power at slow speeds char the material quite a bit. We can’t seem to find a middle ground.

I am not at my laser at the moment to take screenshots of the settings. I can get them later if needed, but I was hoping that in the meantime someone may be able to shine some light on why there is a notable difference between the phone application and the computer software.