Engraving images with vertical lines JDS leatherette

We just got our Thunder laser Nova 35 80 watt machine Tuesday, so I am a lightburn newbie. Our first machine was a FSL Muse, so mybonlybinterface experience has been Retina Engrave.

We do a lot of hat patches on JDS laserable leatherette and I’m having trouble fine tuning the settings. When we engrave with the Muse, we only have 2 options, threshold or halftone dither. I have been running with dither and details are not as blurry as with a threshold setting. Notice in the picture, the vertical stitch detail is much lighter than horizontal, nd the vertical line is not etchingvthrough

I’m having trouble nailing down the setrings in lightburn to get clean patches. Vertical lines are the primary issue right now. The only way to get them to etch is to over power the material.

Do you just have a single layer set to fill? Is it a vector that you’re engraving or a raster image?

I’m not sure. My lightburn experience is minimal at best. The image I am trying to etch is a .png image with a single layer. The image was created in inkscape. Shpuld I export as a .svg and try it that way

Welcome to our forum Russell

Does this happen with every material you try to engrave?
Meaning Vertical is not registering the laser properly.

Sasquatch

I will have to test it on a different material and see.

I can’t see the whole logo but I’d try to convert it to a vector. Just use lines for those stitching lines and set the mode to line instead of fill.

so, run all of the lines as a vector cut at low power?

For the engraving issue, it could be that the lines are really narrow and when the sampling for the desired DPI happens they get faint. Running the rectangles as just a rectangle set to ‘Line’ mode would cause the laser to trace the line exactly once and give you a beam-width line.