Epilog Zing support

Any movement with the Epilog Zing?

No movement, no. We’re basically at full capacity with current development requirements, so it’s going to be a while.

I have two Epilog Helix (50/60) and have been wanting to break away from having a Windows based workflow. I am a sr software engineer who also has quite a bit of electronics/embedded system experience. I am about to take early retirement and would love to donate my time to make your product compatible with Epilog. I think talking to a Zing would pretty much be the same as a helix.

Ready to help…

James

Hi James,

The standard response for the past year has been:

LightBurn does not support Epilog machines at this time. This is something that has been requested a fair bit and we are considering it, however these are quite expensive machines and reverse engineering takes time and we will need physical access to a machine, so it wouldn’t be quick.

To provide you with some more specifics:

Oz was supposed to get his hands on one about 8 months ago, but that didn’t pan out and I don’t believe there has been any progress since. Reverse engineering communications protocols to support a machine is very much a “by feel” process that needs to be done hands on, remote is really not an option.

Interestingly, despite the number of people that have expressed interest in seeing Epilog support, no one has entered it on our feature suggestion site yet. I’d recommend doing so, as that is how we prioritize development.

Thank you for your offer to help though. Also, I’ve edited your post to remove your email address from public view.