Etched Rock Sidehustle (an expanding how-to)

Now let me be clear, I got my first diode laser in February of this year '23. So it might seem like i am new to all this. However I was volunteer number two at a scale structure model company called Imagine That Laser Art. Up until the company sold. Serendipitously the company sold and moved to London area from Windsor of Ontario Canada, at the same time I did. I always tried to get back into the company but it was turned into a family business, which is something I can respect.

So I set out to buy my own laser to make my model railroad structure kits. Having the bug set, I was determined to buy a laser. That’s before diode lasers came out.

Long story short, one day my son woke up before me and started engraving a rock. Took him a few hours of testing while I wasn’t around. Suffice to say he stumbled on a side hustle we have been swamped with since the first week of May.

First post is the intro, Ill be reserving post 2 for settings and techniques for different rocks.

Photos of my Boss and our O scale version of Ebbett’s Field. Funny story tied to this model. I might share it in the future.
images (1)

1 Like

Reserved Post for more info.

First Example is our Midjourney Rock designed by AI

I’m sure there is a formula we can come up with to translate diode power to CO2.

I use a first run as a 2 pass outline at 50mm/m and 100% power. Followed by a cross-hatched fill engrave. In move settings in lightburn I double the power and change line intervals to .3 for first run at 200 speed 100% power.

This was made with my 22w Falcon two with the fire lens on bottom of laser taped over. This laser is used only for Rocks. No wood as it would be a fire hazard to keep the tape on.

1 Like

I too, have done a stone or two… but I’m going to wait until I have a Fiber Laser to do any more. Just seems too heavy a task for my CO2.

4 Likes

This look great!