File format qustion

Hi there,
I am new in laser engraving/cutting and I would like to ask my first question :slight_smile:
I have Neje 2S Plus laser engraver and I would like to use LightBurn SW with it - it should not be a problem based on information I already found on internet.

I am preparing some designs in Inkscape SW and my question is - What is the best fileformat to save/export from Inkscape and use in LightBurn?
Should I export design as bitmap (png) or use directly .svg files? Or some other fileformats? (I know for example Neje desktop software is working with .nc (gcode) files)

Thank you in advance for all answers
Rob

The simple answer is SVG. You should be able to use Inkscape files directly in LightBurn with the exception right now being for text entries. You will need to convert those first to path for them to come in.

This answer holds as long as what you’re doing in Inkscape is traditional vector drawings which it likely is going to be 99% of the time.

However, there may be a situation where what you are designing you want to have engraved as an image. Let’s say if you were trying to add a seamless update to a photo in Inkscape. In this case you may want to export a particular scene as a PNG file. This would be, again, in a very particular situation and you’d know it if it was something you wanted to do.

Thank you @berainlb for the answer.
Basically what I currently want to draw and engrave is Periodic table and Andrenaline as per linked pictures:

As I said, I am not going to download some picture, I will create my own design in Inkscape. So I was wondering what is more effective way - bitmap (png) or vector (svg) - to save from Inkscape and use in LightBurn

This is an interesting case. I’d say SVG is still the obvious format as this would allow you to scale and manipulate the design in LightBurn for any final adjustments without worry of distortion.