Files sent to laser, but no response from machine

Hi there. I’m REALLY new to this. But I printed a job back in August, and it ran beautifully. That was the first and only time I’ve used this laser. I didn’t use the machine again until 2 weeks ago, and when I tried, it cut the project on a microscopic level. I couldn’t get it to recognize the axes, and so I quit trying. Today, I tried again. The only thing the laser will cut is circles that I draw in Lightburn. I have a more complex design to cut, and this is what happens:

• When I click “start” in Lightburn, my 50W laser beeps 3 times, but nothing moves.
  • If I click “Frame” within Lightburn, it does move and outline the project area.
  • If I click “Frame” on the Ruida panel, nothing moves on the laser.
  • When I look at my machine, it’s either said “run” and just started counted time, as it sits there, OR it’s also said “Done” and nothing happens on the Ruida panel at all.

So far, I have uninstalled Lightburn 3x.
Restarted my computer a few times.
Downloaded the earlier version of Lightburn for Mac.
I’ve redrawn the artwork again within LightBurn.
I’ve clicked “reset” on the actual laser itself.

Nothing that I’ve tried fixes the issue. I have a water chiller, and supplemental air filter, so I’m not sure if that’s contributing to the issue? No idea.

The machine is run off a USB cable from my Mac Mini (running Catalina), and the laser is a 50W OMTech with Ruida panel.

I have videos too, but I don’t know how to post them. I’ve literally used this thing one time, and I’m so frustrated. I’m not SUPER tech savvy, but I am tech capable :slight_smile: Please help! I reached out to OMTech back in August and no one responded to me. Machine was purchased on 12/31/2020 and not set up & run until August, when it ran just fine for that one job.

Going to sound weird, but is the key turned on for the laser to fire? Is the emergency stop button disengaged? Did you click the switch to toggle the laser to ready?

1 Like