Fill mode issue - gaps/voids. inconsistent firing?

Trying to figure out what is going on in my fill mode…
Engraving a simple graphic of a rolling pin on a piece of wood (pine), and it keeps giving me gaps on what should be a straight line. My laser is a Universal engraver 3W, runs on GRBL.
Screenshot:

Changing power does not help.
One of these was engraved half-way before I restarted with slighty higher power.

It may appear as if the wood grains affect the engraving - the gaps line up with the grain lines, but I don’t think this is so (though it may be part of it).
The grains did not affect the engraving on the materials test.

I’ve also run this engraving with the direction of the grain going side to side intead of vertical, and with Flood Fill on to see if it would make a difference - it engraved quicker, but results are not much better.

advise please.
p.s. I’m still a newbie and learning.

There may be a few things going on but looks to me like the primary issue is focus. Is your laser fixed focus or variable focus? For fixed focus you need to make sure that the distance from laser lens to material is set to the correct focal distance. For variable focus there’s likely an ideal distance to material plus you need to adjust the dial to get the focus dot tack sharp (or as small as it can get).

1 Like

The lens on the laser is threaded and can be screwed in or out, and I do have it set to the smallest dot possible.
So I don’t think thats it. I did check the focus, along the way figured out how to solve the mechanical issue I was having :slight_smile: happy about that!

Then I ran another fill test on the material, and here is what it looks like:

Then I picked speed 218 with 45% power, and ran the engraving again. But … still does the same thing:

It certainly (again) looks like the grains are affecting it, but here is another run, on the same piece, but now set to Image mode, 300 speed and 90% power.