Filling Shapes & Text etc

Hello, I’m new to lightburn and I am going around in circles to try and sort out what i thought was a relatively simple problem.

The picture and text below is a outlined version of my logo and this burns perfectly in outline format, it was a trace from an original png file that I happened to do in T2 , created the gcode file and worked flawlessly to any size.

I am trying to learn light burn and I have read the manual but I just cannot seem to find out how to fill shapes and text.

Is this something that is relatively easy to do , is there a tutorial anywhere , Can someone please advise please, the logo looks great in outline but filled its really nice and I would prefer that if its possible as that looks like the original artists work who drew it for me. Thank you.

I use an A3 LaserAxe CNC with a 8.5 watt Endurance plus laser running on Mac OSX Mojave, last version prior to Catalina. At the moment without air assist.

I see that you have this layer set to ‘Line’ which will cut following the paths of your design. If you change that to ‘Fill’, LightBurn will use the boundaries of your paths to scan back and forth creating a series of lines filling the space. You can adjust the “gap” between each fill line, also known as the ‘Line Interval’ within the ‘Cut Settings Editor’ window (double-click the layer to expose).

1 Like

Thank you Rick, I will have a try later today when I am back home tonight (10:18 am in Spain).

When you actually set the layer to “fill” and adjust the “gap” will it then display the image as a “filled image” ? So that you can see what is a cut line and what is a filled object?

I assume then as this entire layer would then be classed as filled as wanted and if I wanted to add more text or images that I don’t want to be filled at that point would I create a new layer as a “line” layer so the software then understands what is a cut line and what is a filled object?