Finished my largest map to date

What a great project! Imagine having 120 million polygons on screen at once!

14 Likes

Wow, that’s great! How long did it take you to vector and then actually cut and assemble?

Thanks Tim - Everything is vector from the start. I’m a GIS Scientist so everything is based on data and the geo-database I built. Total project time was about 4 months.

2 Likes

Dean, I was wondering if you could make a tutorial how to make one of these maps using QGIS. Where to gather the data and how to use the topography and bathymetry data to make something like this on a smaller scale and incorporate in the roads as well.

1 Like

Hi Wayne, this is one area you have to have the background in GIS science. All the data is manipulated through formulas I’ve written. The software is customized by scripts and I worked with a software developer as we changed the current release of their GIS software. My Bachelors is in Cartography and my Masters is in 3D analytical GEO-science. So what has taken me 20 years to develop can not be summed up in a tutorial nor would I feel obliged to give that away. It’s like asking the Colonel for the KFC recipe, you know? lol. This is not my hobby, it’s my full time gig so I’m happy to talk about lasing, concepts, large bed lasers, air control and humidity issues, etc.

2 Likes

Nicely done.

How does LightBurn fit into this workflow? No KFC issue with sharing how you use LightBurn and where in the process you find benefit over other tools you use.

@Wayne519, not Dean’s details/tutorial but this is a place to start: https://medialoot.com/blog/how-to-turn-a-map-into-an-artistic-line-drawing/