Focusing Ortur Laser Master 2

Hi there! Total newbie to using a laser engraver and I am trying to focus the laser for my Ortur Laser Master 2.
This guy says he focuses the laser via the “fire” button, but when I do what he says to do the laser never turns on. Any ideas??

Hi Amy.
Does your laser move when you turn it on? i.e does it try to ‘home’?
Check it’s plugged into the mains, sounds daft but the computer will power the lights on the machine so it looks like it’s on, I still make this mistake :thinking:

The ‘power’ beside the ‘fire button’ should be around 3% or less, enough to see but not enough to burn.
Use a piece of black card or something dark to ‘focus’ on.
The adjuster for the focus is probably tight so it can be a bit of a job.
Good luck.

Hey @Kris1 ! Yes it moves smoothly and to the right location. No matter what power I set the fire button at it doesn’t turn on. I’ve checked and re-checked the plugs.

Have you tried engraving anything before trying to focus? and did it burn/engrave?

Have you checked in ‘device settings’ to make sure it’s selected?
Top of page ‘spanner/screwdriver’.

@Kris1 no, this is the first time I’ve used it. Been diving into all the videos and forums and focusing the laser was as far as I got.

Here is the document we suggest is the best place to start. Check that you are set as recommended, then post back if you hit a snag, and we can help from there. :slight_smile: Configuring a Laser - LightBurn Software Documentation

Ok @Kris1 , I finally got the laser to turn on.

I’m trying to focus it but turning the knob doesn’t do much. It’s always a dot with a ring around it. It changes a little if I pull it down while I’m turning it but I’m not 100% sure what I’m supposed to make it look like. Even with both ends of the knob range it just looks like a dot with a halo around it…