Frustrated with Lightburn - what other software is recommended

I’ve had LB for close to a year. It works ok, when it works… I just installed an upgrade and now it looks like Flood fill is missing…Whatever… I’m a graphic designer by trade, not a software engineer and I find this software to not work well with my brain in the way that Adobe products do. Does anyone know a laser software that is more intuitive?

1 Like

I can say from experience that there is no better software I am aware of. If you look in the cut setting editor where you select fill, notice there are two tabs. One says common and one advanced. Open the advanced tab and select “flood fill” below “enable ppi”

You may find a software that works better for your specific needs but you will not find a better community of like minded creators and makers with more wealth of knowledge than LB forum.

3 Likes

LightBurn is layout, editing, and control software for your laser cutter

It is not a graphic arts software package…

Is there some reason you can’t design in Adobe, export and then import it into Lightburn…?

Most of the laser programs out there are pretty much done that way, with little to no graphics or grayscale manipulation available.

What part of the work flow are you having a problem with?

:smile_cat:

1 Like

I have been using Lightburn for a few years now but do mostly all my design work in Vectric Aspire. I am more of a cabinet maker and fabricator and cnc is what brought me into this laser world. Beauty of Lightburn is the wide compatibility with various file types. I save my vector files as .ai format and import into LB. I find illustrator format to translate from software to software better than some other file types. I do not see any reason that you cannot have the best of both worlds and stay in Adobe-verse and also use LB.

@anon12372283 Flood Fill would go missing (be grayed out or omitted) if the feature wasn’t available to use.