Help finding Interval Test

I’m using Lightburn Galvo with a 100 Watt Jpt Mopa Fiber Laser. My computer is running Windows 11. I want to do an interval test but cannot find it listed under laser tools. What am I missing?

Hello Robin

What version of LightBurn are you running?
Unable to fully see it on your screenshot as is cropped

I have never noticed before, but it appears that the Interval Test is not available to Galvo’s. There is probably a logical reason as to why.

IMHO, galvo does not shuttle back and forth like a CO2 gantry and diode lasers do. No need to calibrate +X and -X acceleration.

It’s the latest version not sure what the version number is off hamd

I’m new to all this so when the lightburn software YouTube video said it was relevant to all laser types, even though they where demonstrating on a CO2 gantry laser, I just took it at face value as something I should do to get better output. Guess I’m reading too much into things. What I was originally trying to determine was how to find the best dpi for an image on slate. Guess the interval test isn’t it.

For a galvo, use the materials test, the interval can be varied just like the other variables…

This is a dog tag off my fiber… I’m varying the interval …

Galvos are fast, however, you are still dealing with mass and velocity and they are usually set to a conservative value - meaning it’s unlikely that most people will change these.

I changed mine because the data sheet, what little bit there was, indicated my values to be too high. It did effect job time… it was closer to the estimated value by Lightburn.

There is timing between the axes that may need adjusting. If you’re interested, check out this video for a better explanation.

:smile_cat:

2 Likes

I am wrong quite often, but I’m used to it. I’ve been married long enough :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Thanks for setting me up for success.

1 Like

You’re fine, no need to perspire over it.