Homing Fail Help

Hello! I’m completely new to Lightburn and all Laser printing. I just got an Aufero L2-SF. I have MacOS.

I seem to have the printer set up just fine. I can use the move controls just fine, and they are well calibrated. However it cannot seem to find a home at all. I believe this model has no homing switches. Anytime I push “Home,” it just goes to the bottom left corner and jams up the motors for five seconds and then gives up. It gives the error:

ALARM:9
Homing Fail. Could not find limit switch within search distance. Defined as 1.5* max_travel on search and 5 * pulloff on locate phases.

I have toged off the setting “return home on start up”

I started it up with the laser head all the way in the bottom left, then typed “G92 X0 Y0”

I also typed in “$10=0”

It still can’t find home.

Any thoughts?

I’m not sure if I understand what it is you’re looking for. You’re already aware the machine does not having homing switches. That means your machine will not home on startup and you should not initiate a homing request.

How your machine is intended to work is that wherever the laser head happens to be at power-on will be set to 0,0. So your startup procedure becomes relevant.

Start your machine with the laser head at full front-left.

You needn’t do anything with G92 and you should re-enable $10=1.

I’m under the impression that I should be able to set x0 y0 and then start everything from there. Is that not the case?

The point is that you needn’t set x0 y0. The position at start-up is x0 y0. This is essentially a manual home.

Is there something specific that you’re trying to do that you would set x0 y0? This is normally done for systems that don’t start-up to 0,0.

So should I be able to push home and it goes to 00? Or is that not how it works?