How do I lengthen the tail on my font? I'm a beginner

How do I lengthen the tail on my font? I am a beginner.

Fonts come in a ‘set’, they are generally not user configurable. Possibly not understanding you.

A photo or graphic is a better choice… to express the end product.

:smile_cat:

Hello Jack and thank you for responding. I am very new to this creative world of Lightburn and I am wanting to put names on tumblers, but I would like to have it flow into the first letter, similar to a ribbon; then, flow out of the last letter. Will I need to purchase something to create this type of lettering? Thanks again!

As Jack suggests, an image would make things easier, but if you simply want to extend a single character’s “tail” feature, you can convert the text to a path and use the node tool to stretch it out a bit.

tail stretch

100’s of downloadable fonts. I use one called “dancing script” quite often

The node editor is extremely useful and I would encourage you to learn how to use it.

Take a few and see if this video would make it easier for you to accomplish your task. Boolean operation are much easier to use and get the desired results. You will find these useful, if it helps you or not with this problem, it will help you overall.

They are many here that can help you if you have issues with ‘driving’ the software, I’ve had my share and it’s usually a misunderstanding of how something works or is handled by Lightburn. Post it if you can’t make it work the way you wish…

Good luck

:smile_cat:

I do believe this is what I will need to accomplish my project. Thank you!

1 Like

I am new to Lightburn, so I cannot comment on the editing capabilities of the software. However, a free program called INKSCAPE is good for manipulating shapes and images, that you can then export as DXF files to Lightburn for cutting or etching, etc.

Joe