How similar are smothieboards?

I have a new K40 functioning but want to convert the control board so I can use Lightburn with a camera. It seems the original smothieboards are harder to find possibly due to version 2 on the way? There are the version 1.1 5X generic boards out there that look like the exact same board lay out. Then there are the Bigtree and other sk type boards that are definitely the lowest cost. Also looking at Cohesion 3D that is probably higher cost but there is something to be said for what appears to be well developed. From what I have read I want to use smothie and wonder do all these boards handle it the same? I would like to spend less on the upgrade than I paid for the laser but I want something that works. It seems all have a varying amout of support if there is a problem but you guys know more than me since I am new to this. Thanks.

I’ve upgraded my K40D M2 with BTT SKR 1.3 + LCD running smoothieware for $18 + $25 usd respectively. For so little +$40 for lightburn i now got a completely new and greatly improved machine. all works like a charm, engraving is at about 80mms/254dpi - slower than mechanically possible but i am not sure how sturdy my cutter is to withstand much higher speeds so even though i would have liked to go for Ruida - price / performance is high and I don’t think my cutter will handle the extra punch. There are newer controllers coming out these days based on STM32F407 running at 168Mhz for as little as $40 give or take. there is a flavor of Smoothieware for these processors but I am not yet convinced on the overall stability.

Time will tell.