How thick of plywood or MDF can a 5500mw laser cut?

Hey I’m getting a 5500mw laser and see videos with it cutting 6 mm plywood but everything I see on posts are saying that they can only cut like 2 mm, yet I’ve seen someone cut up to a 1/4 of a inch thick and would like to do that also as I would like to make a lot of 3D frames and or cut out stuff like parts to make rubber band guns, which are typically 1/4 inch. Now I’m completely new to programming and lasers cuts and feeds, I’ve been working as a 5 axis laser cnc machinist for 9 months now but they have yet to show me everything else so I’m trying to take it on myself to start by learning at least the basics. Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks

Very dependent on the brand of laser and the quality of the chip.

A genuine Nichia with a good quality driver and with a quality glass lens can cut a lot better than a cheap Aliexpress diode with unknown provenance, a plastic lens and a rudimentary driver.

You get what you pay for.

There’s a couple of good American suppliers that offer very good units and one Russian supplier (not Endurance!) who make excellent drivers and supply quality lenses and chips.

My experience of diodes marketed as 5.5W is not good. Using a laser power probe I was barely able to get 3W in real terms.

A Nichia NUBM44 with a quality driver and good lens really delivers ~7-8W.

And with all diode lasers, focus is critical.

I’m not a fan for cutting, but they do a wonderful job of engraving.