How to - Import\Open PDF remove unwanted lines and Cut?

Newbie here to Lightburn and using an xTool D1. I would like to use the two together for the very simple purpose of cutting parts at a 1:1 scale. I have a PDF of the parts that need cutting, however the parts were drawn showing wood grain texture and naturally without editing, the laser will mark these lines as well. I have tried a couple of methods and Lightburn options but have found no easy way to remove the unwanted lines with the exception of selecting and deleting one at a time. Is there a method that could be used to just select the parts and delete all internal lines, or select the part and just cut the outlines? Thanks for any help!

I am somewhat of a newbie as well; but, my first thought would be to convert to an image (if it is not already) and then use the trace/sketch and adjust the thresholds to get what you need. Or maybe just select you could select the lines you want and move them to a new space then delete all of the “leftovers” at once.

Please don’t do this - That’s a lot like recording a CD to a cassette tape, cutting the tape up and gluing it back together, then recording it back to a CD. It’s possible, yes, but you’ll lose a massive amount of quality in the process and there are far easier ways.

If the design is vector shapes, you should be able to select the shapes and un-group them if they are grouped, and then just delete various parts of the design. Are you able to post the PDF here so we can have a look?

@LightBurn - I am new to the forum as well, when I try to add\upload the PDF I receive a message notifying me that the file type is not allowed. Is there another way to upload or share? BTW, thanks for responding and looking forward to learning a possible solution.

You can add .txt to the end of that file to upload here, or you can send to support@lightburnsoftware.com, including a link to this post for context. :slight_smile: