How to setup a new diode laser unit 15w

I’m new to laser units but have a few years of experience with a simple 3018 cnc. I got the creality 10W laser for my 3D printer and that worked great with engraving and basic cutting. The downside was that I couldn’t use my 3D printer when the laser was installed and visa-versa. So I sold the 10W creality laser and bought a 15W vevor laser with adjustable focus. (XTS15W blue laser) Installed everything according to the instructions but the end result is that engraving works but basic cutting is so much worse than the Creality 10W laser that I had. The cable that came with the laser module was also wrong, the power and PWM were mixed up. I corrected that before I started.

Is there anything I need to change in the grbl settings except for the obvious $32=1 and the $30=1000 and the S value in Lightburn = 1000 setting? I have the feeling that the laser isn’t performing at its maximum capacity or I have bought the wrong product.

Any advice is highly appreciated, did I overlook something?

The manufacturers of premium laser engravers tended to specify optical power output when rating a Laser Module. The ‘second tier’ manufacturers offered Power Consumption of their laser as their rating.

The Creality was likely a full 10W optical output device. If the Vevor is 15W on the input (the power consumption side) then you’re looking at about 2-4W on the optical output. I’d apply 4:1 as a solid assumption about the ratio between Consumed Power and Delivered Optical Power.

The first question I would ask is, are there two or three wires from the controller to the laser diode module? Second question, is the power supply ‘brick’ for the laser engraver controller a 12V or 24V device? Followed by, do you have a Digital Volt Meter that is also equipped with a 10 Amp Scale?

At full power (S=1000) the laser engrave head will draw maximum power and it will be 100% duty cycle so there won’t be any weird signals to throw the ammeter off.