Image adjustment for dark skin and light clothes

Hi

I have been doing engravings for 6 months now but still have not mastered the art of image manipulation. Some come out good by adjusting the gamma, enhancement radius and enhancement amount.

But in case the skin colour is dark and the clothes color is light then whatever I do the images come dark and clothes completely loose edges which makes it look unnatural.

I think this kind of images need enhancements in the external photo editing software like photoshop.

I want to know how can I do that. What shall I learn in photoshop to lighten skin tone and enhance features on face and clothes and edges ?

For this in photoshop I use different layers with a layer mask, removing the parts I do not want that layer to adjust. you have many adjustment options you can apply to that section of the image.
this allows you to adjust the dark skin, and the white clothes seperately.
CTRL+J copies the layer to a new layer
Add a mask at the bottom of the layer properties tab, then select the mask icon on the layer you are workign on and use the Brush with either black or white to remove/Add sections of the image that can be “seen” and worked on, Then make adjustments to that section, beauty is you can go back and change the mask as many times as you want, adding or removing parts or changing the adjustment.

1 Like

I’m starting with photoshop as I now realize that I can not completely rely on LB for editing. But PS is a beast in itself… There are options but you need to know much more on what to apply when… lighting details… where to dodge where to burn and how it affects the image … blah blah blah

My requirement is simple I need to lighten a area… as you told there are many options… which one to use for it… dodge … levels…curves !!!