Image size issues

I’m new to this so apologize if this has been asked before, but I have looked and can’t find anything similar.
I have created a quick silly drawing, to see where 0, 0 is and how it works etc. (I tried plain text which went through the motions but no laser on,) but assuming this is me not setting something, Then I tried this quick sketch.
My problem is sizing.
The engraving area is 400 by 500, as you can see from the attached image, the image only takes up about 100 x 100 but when I print, it prints to the full size of the engraving area,
Is there a setting I am missing please?

These settings would normally be in your controller. You would need to tell us what that is. :slight_smile:

ah thank you, its a cheap Chinese unbranded laser,
arduino board, seems to be the nano,
firmware just updated to GRBL 1.1f,
grbl selected on device
does that help?

You’ll need to configure the steps/mm in the controller. The GRBL docs are here: https://github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki/Grbl-v1.1-Configuration#100-101-and-102--xyz-stepsmm

1 Like

This is great, thanks, I have managed to reset the size, but this is very much trial and error as even the guide says ‘it is likely to be 200’ or it could be 1, 2, 4. 8 or 16 to calculate the distance. (so best guess work between 20 and 400 and just kept readjusting) In the grbl console I set $100 and $101 to 50 in the end, which seemed to size roughly.
It wont turn laser on for a shape yet, so cant measure exactly, and it wants 7 hours to do the quick cat sketch :open_mouth:
X axis though seems to be inverted and now everything is incredibly slow, .

The view still looks the same, and if looking at the laser from above (control at bottom) it states that 0,0 is in the right hand corner, and it draws it from this side inwards.
If I make the image rectangular, it has x and y correctly (drew frame just to see which axis was longest)

Does anyone have an idea of the grbl settings for a cheap X400 by Y500 laser engraver?