Importing a photo and them exporting a dxf for use in lasercut 5.3

Hi, my Lightburn is not compatible with my laser so I export the dxf and then import into lasercut 5.3. I am struggling so much to export a file that lasercut will read. Is there a procedure to do this as Im a novice and cant find anything on the tutorials
Many thanks in advance
Martin

1 Like

DXF exports from LightBurn don’t include images. At the moment, only SVG exports support that.

Thank you for your reply
Can I ask apart from coreldraw and illustrator is there any other software I can buy that will allow me to export images as dxf as I need to be able to laser on to my clients wooden caskets with the image of their beloved pet.
Many Thanks
M

LaserCut should be able to load a bitmap image and run that, without saving as a DXF. Does that work? If you have the image in LightBurn, you can select it, then go to File > Export Processed Bitmap and it will save the image after doing all the processing, dithering, etc.

Hi Oz, thank you for that, I was able to export the processed image and finally burn a picture!!!
Thank you!

Hi
I seem to have hit another problem which I hope that you can help me with
I would like to engrave a a photon either in an oval frame or feathered, which ever I do the processed bitmap is square and the white area around the image or frame is visible and the laser engraves as such. Is there a feature in LB to make a frame and import photo into, if not any advice on how to save a PS file so that the square canvas is not shown
Many Thankls
Martin

Even better, we do not limit this to only “Frame(s) shapes”, you can use any shape or shapes to mask away the unwanted parts of an image. Image Masking - LightBurn Software Documentation

Whats more, we have a video to show you how it works and the options provided. Just click below:

Hi
This is great but I cant save the image as a processed bitmap for some reason in order to export for lasercut software