Issue engraving with Atomstack A5 20w

Hi Everyone, Im Helberth and im new in this world of laser cut, Nice to meet you.

This week i got my Atomstack A5 20w, im having trouble to engrave with the Lightburn software. Using 200.0 speed and 85% power, my laser poorly engrave slightly.

Ive read before abour some codes to write in the console, but i prefer ask if i need to write one of this commands before i do something wrong. Any help would be gladly apreciated.

Hi I have the same machine and it works just fine. First what material are you trying to to engrave? Wood, plastic, paper? Each need different settings. To be able to help we need to know a bit more about what you are trying to do. Also have you got the speed set to mm or inches? MM is the correct setting. I engrave bamboo wood and birch wood at 2000mm with a power setting 75%. Let us know more about your setting to get better advice.

You don’t say what material you’re trying to engrave. The photo looks like MDF, but I’m not sure.

Your setup shows 200mm/sec which it very fast. Try slowing down the speed to 50mm/sec, 50% power, and one pass (you shouldn’t need more than one pass to engrave this material), you should get better results and then you’ll have a starting point to adjust speed and/or power from there.

You should clarify 2000mm/min as a simple dimension of 2000mm is not a speed. @Wyvern 's units are in mm/sec so an equivalent speed would be 33.3mm/sec - VERY different!

1 Like

Hello. This one im testing on is 3mm mdf. The speed is set to mm/sec. Fill shapes at once on option too.

Next week im planning engrave tiles. Meanwhile im training in mdf.

Hello, yes im sorry i forgot to write the material. Yes its 3mm MDF. Thank you so much, im gonna try this configuration and let yopu know when i finish.

Thank you for the explanation Tom