Issue with my laser or software settings?

Happy New Year to all!

I am new to laser cutting and received my Orion Motor Tech Upgraded 60W CO2 Laser Engraving Cutting Machine yesterday. I wanted to verify that everything was working so I ran a few files and got various degrees of “very light output” on 3mm birch wood. I found a resource on this forum a lightburn PowerScale generator so I plugged in some values, ran the file. The results were not good (see below) in my option is appears as if the output of the laster is suboptimal (like running ta printer on low ink).

Other than a mechanical issue with the Laser is there something else that I can be doing wrong? Is there a way to run a test that will help me determine if the laster is defective? I have uploaded the image from the output as well as the PowerScale file, any feedback would be greatly appreciated and I wish everyone a great New Year!

powerScale Basic Power-10-70 Speed-100-500.lbrn (49.4 KB)

That file is a disaster. dump it. I assume the creator assumes you know how to edit all the settings. Its way way too fast by default and I would never ever tell anyone to start at 100%power and 100% min power especially those speeds…no one cuts a line at 300MM sec unless they have a high powered laser.
Learn to make your own. You don’t need to test a line cut over 90mm sec and I would stay between 20 and 70mmsec and maybe stay around 40-50% power. So make your own boxes each with say the same power but each at a different speed from 10mmsec maybe up to 60 05 70mm sec at first. Then you can try same speed say 50mm sec and change power on say 6 boxes from 10% power up to maybe 70% power. Stay slow and low at first. Fast and hot is usually not a good thing.
Whatever you do dump that test file it’s no bueno.
Your results look like what I would expect with that file and I have the saem laser…well two actually.

LOL, thank you Scott I will work on making my own PowerScale file tomorrow.