Issues with "burnt" looking glass etching

I am trying to etch some glasses using black tempera paint (Sax Versa Temp, Heavy-Bodied Tempera. I have my 10w XTool D1 pro set at 90% power and 50 mm/s, running with low air assist. For some reason the etching almost looks burnt or patchy with black in it. I cannot scrub it out regardless of what I try (water, acetone, dish soap, alcohol, soaking overnight, magic eraser, etc.). Any thoughts on what is causing this? Could the cheap glass itself be an issue (impurities, etc.)? Is the paint too thick? I watered it down (with water on some and rubbing alcohol on the others) and rolled it for two even coats. I’m very new to the hobby, so any input is appreciated! Thank you!

I’ve had good luck with Omtech Laser Marking Spray. A little pricey but it goes a long way and washes off with water. You could also try mixing your own Titanium Dioxide with 90% Alcohol. Problem i’ve had with that is finding a sprayer to spray it on that doesn’t clog up. I finally gave up and just use the Omtech. You could also try the Cold Galvanized Spray if your on a budget. It washes off easily with water and a brillo pad. I’m sure other folks will chime in on this.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09L4GDCN9?psc=1&ref=product_details

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Rust-Oleum-Professional-20-oz-Flat-Gray-Cold-Galvanizing-Compound-Spray-7585838/100142963

1 Like

I believe that both of the methods Loren suggested will result in dark engraving. I think you are looking for light. Try a different brand of Tempura paint.

1 Like

Yes, aiming for light! Any paint you recommend? Thank you!

I have been using Prand brand from Dollar Tree. I just did this trivet this morning using it. 10watt 4,500 mm/m @100%. the discoloration is from flashback of my honeycomb bed. I haven’t done glass in quite a while and forgot about this problem.
DC8372C7-2051-46E7-AD63-785C81702529_4_5005_c
A97F8793-BCBF-482E-AD47-3624B968F715_4_5005_c

1 Like