Laser 1 maximum power (%) not working

I’ve been working with Ruida controllers for many years. My experience is that when I set the vendor setting "Laser 1 maximum power (%),” the controller display will show the actual power being used. So if the Laser 1 maximum power (%) is set to 70%, but the user sends a job set to 100%, Lightburn will show 100%, but once they begin the job, the controller display will show 70%.

This weekend a member used our Nova 63 without training, and ran his file at 100%. When I became aware of this fact I checked the controller display and it indicated that the job was actually running at 100%, which was quite distressing. I’ve run some more tests this evening, and I’m still getting the same behavior. Is the machine actually overdriving the tube at 100%, or is the display lying to me?

Do you have any idea what might be going wrong? We’re a busy makerspace and sometimes members do stupid crap like this. The "Laser 1 maximum power (%)” limit takes a big load off my mind knowing that at least they can’t accidentally burn out the tube with this kind of mistake. I need to know that when I limit a machine’s power via Lightburn, it will actually be limited. This is distressing.

The controller in the Nova is a “Thunder Laser RDC644XG-LY-1Gb.” The other Ruida lasers I have are “RDC644XG.”

Any information or advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated!

If I send a 200mm/s @ 100% power from Lightburn to the Ruida.

Ruida set internally for 70% power.

This is before and during the job …

Before the job is run, on the left you can see the Lightburn settings as 200mm/s @ 100% power. On the top right of this image is the 210mms @ 60% power that is set from the machines console as speed and maximum power. This displays what it’s currently doing or it’s settings.

Right as I’m executing the job, upper right the layer shows 70% power, which is the Ruida laser power limit and the loaded layer is corrected to the machines limit of 70%