Laser burn significantly reduced with "Laser mode on"

I’ve bought a cheap Chinese 7watt laser from Amazon to cut printing plates for my pad printer. But I’m new to this so, I’m learning as I do it.

After putting it together and getting it running with lightburn, I noticed that it was cutting the marks between letters and across them as it moved.

I read that I needed to turn on “laser mode” $32=1, and did that in the console. That did stop the laser from cutting between the letters but the power coming out of the diode laser is so weak now that it’s hardly making any noticeable burns, even with the power maxed out at 100%.

When I turn laser mode off, $32=0, it burns like a magnifying glass on a hot day, but cuts the travel marks. And turning it back on makes it go weak again.

How do I get it to burn at full power again with the laser mode one?

1 Like

Somebody more knowledgeable will chime in, but does your $30 value (max spindle speed) match your S-Value Max in your LightBurn settings? They’re typically 255 or 1000, from my experience.

1 Like

I’m having the exact same problem with the same laser!!

Most likely you’re asking the machine to go faster than the firmware is limiting you to.

Read here, particularly the stuff about Laser Mode and speed: Configuring a 3018 CNC for use with LightBurn

Thanks for that information. I read through it and understand about half of it.

What I understand is that, “In laser mode”, the travel speed governs the output power of the laser and that if its going too fast the power is reduced. So, I need to optimize my GRBL setting for the X and Y axis.

Based on my laser, $110 and $111 have some optimal number setting for speed that allows full power but if it is exceeded then the power output get squelched.

I don’t understand how to find that number. I think it has something to do with stepper motor resolution, $100 and $101?

Attached is a picture of my default GRBL configuration from the laser document.