Laser for a complete newbie, for jewelry?

Hello :slight_smile:
I create hand stamped jewelry on gold filled/sterling silver - but demand is getting high and I’d like to begin laser engraving to save time/effort. Can anyone recommend a relatively affordable machine suited to this that is compatable with lightburn? Bonus points if avaliable in AU

Many thanks :slight_smile:

Can you describe a little how you would use the machine? What type of material would you be engraving? What type of duty cycle would the machine need to support?

Also, where would you be using the machine? How much available space would you have and what type of access to ventilation would be available?

As for budget, could you provide a specific range that puts this in the affordable range? The variance here is astonishing, frankly.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply, below is a picture similar to what I create (this is not my work however) - I just hand stamp with hammer/metal stamps etc and tape down, however definitely think engraving could be much easier. I use gold filled and sterling silver discs (as pictured). My studio is a large shed with two roller doors and another door, however winters here are brutal. $1000 - 1500 is probably what I’m looking to spend at the moment… of course I’m not complaining if it is cheaper though

jewels

Nothing in the hobby range of money will engrave on metal. Lasers do not do a good job of engraving metal anyway. It can etch certain types with certain types of lasers but you have to have a very specific laser for most metals which are very costly to own and run.

1 Like

You would be better off with a small CNC to machine metal. Unfortunately you would lose some detail from what you get with stamping.

1 Like