Laser keeps changing position slightly

Hello

I am completely new to the world of laser engraving. I bought a cheap laser from Vevor VEVOR Cnc3040,cnc Machine 5500mw, Cnc Router Machine Laser Engraver For Wood Plastic | VEVOR UK

I’m not trying to achieve much. I bought some bamboo desktop phone charger stands I want to engrave with my business logo as gifts. Its cheaper to give this a go rather than pay a £20-£30 engraving charge on a £13 item to buy a laser and DIY when you have 45 of them to do.

Anyway, I have spent the last couple of days experimenting. I have a couple of problems.

The first is the image prints out mirrored. I’ve built the laser to the instructions and double checked everything, even set the origin to front left. I’ve go around that by just flipping the image on Lightburn after I have made it. I’m passed that for now, its an annoyance that I will come back to.

However, the most annoying one is this and the one I really need suggestions with

When I frame it , the laser will draw out the area fine. If i run it again, the area moves slightly forward and so on and so on as its walking the area back to the front by about 2mm a cycle.

The issue is that if i need to engrave with more than one pass then i get a distorted image because the second burn is off by about 1-2mm from the first.

I can’t figure out why. I’ve tightened the belts and made sure the laser is on a solid level bench

Any ideas?

If you run 2 passes on a cut without stopping do you get the same issue? Or is this only if you complete a job, then try to rerun?