Laser not burning through plyboard

Hi
I am trying to burn through plyboard but my laser is burning some items out but not others. I have a Atomstack with a A5 M20 laser head does anyone have any suggestions.

10/mm sec 100% power and get an air assist made for your laser. You’ll be right as rain.

It would also help to know the actual material you are trying to cut and the thickness. Diode lasers aren’t great at cutting, they are better at engraving.

2 Likes

As @LaserWillie suggests, once you get the air assist installed, you should get through 3-4mm plywood just fine.

Q: is your material sitting on any type of raised bed?

It will help if the air can get through the cut as it finishes. Any try not to do everything at 100% power - the diode will serve you longer.

2 Likes

Hi was wondering where the best place to get a air assist and how much are they to be honest never heard of this I’m new to all this as you probably realise. And yes it is on a raised bed. Also what sort of lasers are best for cutting wood its just a hobby but I’m wasting a lot of wood lol.

Co2 lasers. AtomStack is all marketing. Your best bet is a few 3D printers in the forum or searching Etsy. You need the Nozzle/Guard comb and an aquarium air pump with at least 500 GPH.

The AtomStack M50 shows them cutting 10 mm wood is most likely Balsa. I wish there was an Independent channel that reviewed these and was honest about them and how they hold up.

1 Like

Hi Beverly can I ask what Speed/Min and Max power you are using please for the cut outs? I’m very new to this and struggling with my Atomstack A5 M30 to get it to cut 3mm ply.

I hope you get your problem sorted.

I quite literally gave you the exact settings and answered your questions in another thread.

1 Like

@BevB … here’s a project for you to try if you’re up for it.

1/ measure the (probably brass) ring around your laser optical lens. Fixed focus or variable - it doesn’t matter.