Layer settings seem to get mixed up?

I am new to Lightburn, having converted from RD Works. Most of my recent work is engraving and then cutting 10mm clear acrylic. By engraving, I mean I am cutting an outline with a low power rather than scanning. Each item has an “engrave” layer and a “cut” layer with different power settings. The item is grouped and there are multiple items cut in each job with cut optimisation set to cut in group then layer priority The layers are ordered so that I am engraving first, then cutting, one group at a time. This all works great BUT…I have a 750 ms cut through set in advanced settings for the 10mm cut layer, which is cutting last in the layer order. If I do not do this, the beginning of the cut will not go all the way through and the part will not release from the sheet. There is no cut through delay set for the engrave layer, however, the laser often, but not always, will apply a delay anyway, on the engrave layer, so that I get a deep cut right at the beginning of each shape, ruining the engraving. In a job I just did, only 2 pieces out of 18, all planned up together, did not have this problem.

So, in summary, I am cutting multiple items with 2 layers, but some of the advanced settings for the second layer are being applied to the first layer, thus messing up the job. Any ideas- is this likely to be Lightburn or the Ruida controller?

Without the art, it’s hard to comment.

See if this helps at all…

Screenshot from 2022-10-10 17-14-55

:smile_cat:

Can you email the file to us at support@lightburnsoftware.com and include a link to this thread? That way I can take a look at the settings used and see if I can reproduce the issue.

Thanks Oz, I have just sent a file and a photo of the problem on the finished product

Thanks Jack, unfortunately, the problem is on a layer that is being engraved, (in line mode, but at low power), so a lead in will not be practical as it will be visible on the finished product