Light burn with Macbook Air and CNC 3018 Pro

Hi Guys. I am new to this whole CNC engraving and lazer hobby. I just ordered myself a CNC 3018 Pro from Aliexpress, and waiting for delivery. In the meantime, I am doing some homework regarding the software and everything that goes with it. I own a 2017 Macbook Air and use it cuttently with my Cameo 4 vinyl cutter, which works like a charm. When check the software for the newly purchased 3018, I realized that the software that comes with it, is for Windows OS only.
My question…, will Lightburn and my Macbook Air be good to use for both the Rotor head milling and the Lazer…? like I said…, this is all new for me, and I have a lot to learn.

All inputs will be appreciated.

LightBurn is designed for laser work and does not know of the required CNC Router / rotor work coding to support spindle actions. We have many members that use LightBurn to drive the laser attached to the “3018”, some even use LightBurn to create the basis for their router work, saving as GCode, but then do the additional editing / coding required to support the router work. This additional editing is outside the currently supported features of LightBurn, but the community is here and helpful. :slight_smile:

Thanks a million for the answer. That’s just what I hoped to hear. I will give it a try.

Ian, in a general sense most software provided by machine makers are just gcode senders and not CAD or CAM software. A gcode sender’s main function is to send the text files containing the gcode which commands the firmware on the machine to do what it does. ie move the tool around and control tool. So there are lots of GCode senders out there. LightBurn started as a GCode sender for 2D laser cutting with added features for setup and positioning of the design. It’s come a long way from that and now has lots more design capabilities too.