Lines are super clear but Fills aren't

Hi, I’m new to this, and know I have a lot to learn.

I have a 500mW laser add on for my 3d printers. I’ve been learning and playing around with it, and Lightburn software is the only reason I haven’t given up.

I’m getting really good results cutting outlines (SVG images, or letters), but when I try and use the Line + Fill (or just Fill) options, the borders of the images are blurred.

When I do the line, it traces the path, and it looks great, but Fill or Line+Fill goes back and forth one line at a time. (I’m sure that’s as designed), However, it’s like it’s starting or stopping the laser too late, so the borders between burn and non-burn aren’t sharp.

Any thoughts on what I can try?

My speeds are very slow (10mm/s, etc.) because I know I have a little baby laser. I love the results I get on Line, but so far, Fill is coming up short. Any tips to make it look better?

I got a clearer image. If you look closely, you can see the nice smooth line, and then the “overshoots” on the fill

It looks as though it could be backlash. I don’t know what your movement equipment entails. I’m assuming belts and pulleys. Are they tight?.

Do you have Overscanning turned on? Are you doing bi-directional fills. Try turning it off if it is on and see if that helps. All these little things can give us hints as to where the problem lies.

Yeah, belts and pulleys, and they’re fairly tight (great for 3d prints), but the Laser is held on by magnets, so perhaps it’s got some vibration or inertia causing that.

I’m not sure where the overscanning settings or bi-directional fills setting is. I have looked, but don’t see it yet.

Perhaps that’s because I have a Marlin controller?

In Lightburn under your image cut layer.