Lines on engraving tests spaced unevenly

Hello! I’ve been doing some scanning offset adjustments as I’ve realized my engravings on my Falcon 2 40W(in precision 22W mode) are not coming out okay. It made the results better, but I’m wondering if my issues are arising from this strange movement from the Y axis.

Even though I’ve set the line interval to .5mm, it seems to be consistently changing from a .2 interval to a .4-ish interval every other line. I’m thinking this may be an issue with my belts, but I am new to this kind of hardware, and wondering if anyone else has experienced uneven line intervals! Where should I start troubleshooting this type of issue? Thanks for reading, I appreciate any input!

Solved the issue

What did you do?

Other folks will benefit from your pathfinding!

Hey! I took the falcon 2 apart and adjusted the eccentric nuts on the machine which was causing the hitches in both the X and Y axis belts. It seems to be easy on the Y axis, but on the X axis it can be a bit sensitive to adjusting the eccentric nut. Too loose, and the laser attatchment plate will wobble. Slightly too tight, and I get evenly spaced bands of increased resistance when pushing the laser module along the X axis. I still have a bit of wobble, but it is a lot better than before, and within acceptable tolerances to continue fine tuning the machine.

Phew!

Those are intended for adjustment, but lack any way to carefully adjust them, so comes down to setting by guess and by gosh.

Congrats on finding & fixing an unnecessarily obscure problem!