Longtime Laserworks user - difference/way of working with lightburn

Hello, I’m a new user of Lightburn and still in “trial mode”, but after testing for a few days now,
I have some questions/issues that I would like to solve, before I purchase this software.

LB is more advanced and user friendly, than Laserworks, which I have been using for almost 10 years.
But it behaves different to .

1. Bitmaps : sometimes, without any reason a bitmap gets engraved 2 times, even
    when settings are set on “one pass”. Is this a setting I missed ? I use b/w bmp’s, dithered by
    my graphics software, not by LB itself.

2. Inner to Outer : Inner to Outer is interpreted differently.
    I create modeltrain lasercut kits. In my designs I use extra cut-lines so that disposable pieces get cut in
    smaller pieces and drop out easier. If not they sometimes stick to the concept and I have to remove
    them with a needle or toothpick.

These extra lines are within the contours but get cut after these contours. This means
that the disposable pieces are sometimes gone before they are cut in smaller pieces.

The picture below shows what I mean. In Laserworks these extra cuts (in the picture changed
to black and thicker) are cut first and then the outline. With Lightburn, the black lines are cut
after the outline.

Which setting do I need to change to change this behavior or must I adapt my designs.
And I would rather not because I have quite a few designs already…

When you experience a bitmap or other object being scanned twice or cut twice, it is typically because the same object is on top of the “first”. If you set Lightburn to single pass and in preview, the laser runs twice, try clicking on your object and delete the object at the top. (you can always undo your actions)

You will put your black lines on an extra layer and prioritize the layer as the first cut, it should be a very easy way to solve your problem.

Have fun with Lightburn

1 Like