Mirror engraving

Good Day i started with lightburn and. Need to get more information on how to do photos on a mirror and what settings is best. I have a orthur master 2 20 watt ant help wil be apreciated…

Thanks irene

The butterfly wwas done on 400 on 50

Not exactly sure what you want.

The 2nd example is from the back… is that what you want the user to see?

If you want a ‘grey scale’ type that is difficult, if not impossible with your laser, on non natural material. It’s hard enough on natural materials.

I engrave some glass and IMHO, you need to use a technique much like a printer by some type of dithering of the photo. Make an image that the eye interprets it the way you want.

I do some mirrors, but usually from the back on the co2 and paint them. I can get different textures on the glass, but the reflective part is only there or not.

Might try the test pattern that Lightburn has under Laser tools and see if you can get the effect you want.

The photo from the back, doesn’t show us anything about the results of that test…

Good luck

:smile_cat:

Yes im doing all the photos from the back but it looks like im cutting to deep and would like to know you best settings

I treid it in this methode but it looks like I’m cutting to deep. And would like to know what is the best results for you. I’m working on Image R to dittering my photos so thats wil work.

you have to test for yourself to determain the best settings, we do not have your machine, the exact type of mirror you are using etc etc. It looks like you are testing anyway so I don’t understand your question really. if you think it’s going to deep, reduce the power or increase the speed or put a masking tape on to take up some of the power initially.

I only would like to know what % and power is good for mirror , i know you don’t have my machine im only asking for a guideline. I’m testing anyway and just need a guidline of whats the best. Thank ill do that aswell.

Is this an image mode?