Multiple shapes - how to join/share cut lines

Hi -

This is probably super elementary but I’m really new to Lightburn…

I need to cut many copies of the same rectangular shape. I can use “Arrange…Grid / Array” to create a layout. I have set X and Y spacing to 0 so the shapes’ edges are coincident. How can I set things up so that when two shapes share a side, only one cut is made for that line? My primary purpose in making such an arrangement is to save cut time and cutting the coincident edges twice doesn’t make sense.

Thanks!!

Probably the best way is to do any engraving separate of the cutting. Then you can delete duplicates on the cut layer. Engraving doesn’t work with open vectors, but cutting does.

If you’re cutting squares, for instance, then I’d probably delete the left and top edges for example, and array that with a 0 gap up and right, and that should do what you want.

I’m sure it’ll be different if you’re cutting other weird shapes though. Maybe you could post a screenshot of what you’re cutting, and that would give us a better idea of how to achieve what you want.

1 Like

If the lines match up with each other you can use the ‘Remove overlapping lines’ optimization found under the ‘Optimization Settings’ in the ‘Laser’ window, then check the results in the ‘Preview’ window to ensure things are cutting the way you’d like.

2 Likes

Edit: I’m also trying the optimization suggested by Rick as well. I’ll post here once I figure this out. Thanks, guys!

Hey Blake -

Thanks for your reply. It’s all cutting. I’ll give what you suggested a shot. I imported the shape as a DXF and the rectangle in question is one continuous shape - I’m uncertain how to break it up into its constituent lines so I can delete a couple of them. Any ideas?