My lazer rams into the sides at every start-up

My Atomstack A5 Pro+ rams into the corner (lower left) at every start-up. It “grinds” into the corner for 3-4 seconds. Also, when engraving, it always seems to start the laser process along the bottom edge, which “rubs” the air hose along the framework. I’d like direction to 1) stop the grinding into the corner; and 2) have my project engrave in the middle on my workspace. I am a total Newbie, so please use small, understandable words…thanks.

I believe your laser does not come equipped with limit switches to allow for homing. Homing is used to establish a known good position, typically 0,0.

Because you don’t have limit switches for this you need to do this manually. While the machine is off, move the laser head to the front-left of the machine. Then turn on the laser.

Until you’re very familiar with the functioning of your laser I recommend you stick to “Absolute Coords” as the “Start from” mode in the Laser window. This will basically make is so that the position of objects in your Workspace match the physical location on your laser bed.

In order to engrave in the middle of the Workspace place the object in the middle of the workspace which will then correlate to the middle of the bed of your laser.

Thanks… REALLY, thanks. Next, you said to “stick to “Absolute Coords” as the “Start from” mode in the Laser window”…sorry I don’t know where that is. Which drop down window do I go to? While you’re here, How do I set the “minimum” power. It appears that I can change my MAX. POWER to 100% for cutting, but I feel I need to set the minimum power to 100% also, but it is now where to be found. And, does “air assist settong” aid or interfere with cutting through wood? I do have a seperate air tube connected to the laser.
Thanks again for your help.

In the Laser window, usually at bottom right, there is a field that indicates “Start from” with a pulldown. Set the pulldown to “Absolute Coords”.