My Sainsmart 5500mw blue diode laser will fire but not burn/engrave

Hi all!

In a nutshell… bought Sainsmart 3018 Pro with 5500mw blue diode laser, downloaded and installed everything on my macbook pro… seemed to work fine, just had to fine tune the settings… then all of a sudden, LightBurn would not recognize my laser anymore. After 2 hours of trying to make it work, deleted and reinstalled drivers… voila! But nooooow, I can see the beam, and it moves just fine all around… but it just won’t burn at all! Not even a paper napkin!

Please help!

I am new to lightburn and had the same issue. I googled laser fires but not engraving and there were a few hits. I am not sure of the exact setting I made but there was a speed setting I do remember. I believe I also saw something about the laser power setting for the fire button being too low.

Try this link, it has the initial settings for your machine. I need to verify my settings also.
Good luck.

Hey Greg, thanks for the quick response. Already have gone through a lot of topics in various places… sadly, nothing has worked so far. I do admit I’m a complete newbie when it comes to these machines. My settings right now are as follows:

$0=10
$1=25
$2=0
$3=2
$4=0
$5=0
$6=0
$10=0
$11=0.010
$12=0.002
$13=0
$20=0
$21=0
$22=0
$23=0
$24=25.000
$25=500.000
$26=250
$27=1.000
$30=255
$31=0
$32=1
$100=800.000
$101=800.000
$102=800.000
$110=500.000
$111=500.000
$112=1000.000
$120=3000.000
$121=3000.000
$122=3000.000
$130=200.000
$131=200.000
$132=200.000

Also, my S-value max = 255.

Read the paragraph that starts with this:

With GRBL, in variable power mode, if you ask the controller to go faster than it’s allowed to, it will reduce the output power to compensate .

Your maximum speed ($110 and $111) is 500 mm/minute, which is very slow (8.3 mm/sec)

1 Like

Oz,

Thanks for the response. Forgive me for what might be a dumb question, but…