Need Advice on CUT settings for Ortur Laser Master

Hi. I’m new to the laser world and bought an Ortur Laser Master 2 20W. One of the main things I want to use it for is cutting through 3mm wood and smaller. I have tried for about a month with only a little success recently when I heard back from GearBest to move my medium to about 35mm from the laser. That helped a lot but I have only been able to cut through my 3mm pine plywood when doing about 25 passes. My settings are 600mm/sec, 100% power, ~33mm from the laser. I think I have found that I need to give the wood a chance to cool more before doing another round of passes. Can anyone help me understand how to do this better with my laser?

Below is a picture of some of my MANY attempts to figure this out.

Diods are not the best cutters, why not a K40 Co2? It cuts 3mm like Butter

These systems are not the best for cutting as @Andreas says, but the key is having a very well focused beam creating the smallest possible dot size and go slow. Most of the cuts you show are very out of focus. You are loosing / spreading a lot of the power when out of focus. Like cutting with a dull knife. “Sharpen” the focus and slow down…, give time for the laser to deposit that crisp power to achieve better cutting results.

Ok. I’ll try again. I’ll fewer passes at a much slower speed. Thanks. Fingers crossed! :slight_smile:

Bonjour,
Comme toi je débute et je rencontre les mêmes problèmes avec également ma Ortur 20W.
Aussi je suis intéressé par le résultat de tes prochains tests.
J’ai l’impression pour ma part que les premiers passage se font bien mais que cela devient compliqué lorsque trop de charbonnage se fait!
J’ai fais un test ce matin de coupe côté recto puis en retournant mon panneau pour lancer une nouvelle coupe identique au verso. C’était beaucoup mieux mais c’est pas évident de retrouver le bon positionnement!

Hi Aaron,

I too have an Ortur LM2 20w and was having a problem with cutting.