Newbie Asking For Hardware Feedback Please

I am a 50yo engineer who has been a programmer, CAD guy, and messed around with Photoshop and some other design programs in my years. I’m really interested in getting into the laser engraving/cutting hobby and maybe a side hustle. I would say that my budget is up to about 1K … and realize that my first machine may not be my only one. I am looking at the Diode 10w machines although the new 20w from Atomstack has my attention. From what I have read, Lightburn is the way to go although maybe it’s best to cut teeth on some other native software as well. I have been looking at Atomstack, Xtool (even their new cutter/laser) , and Outur. I would like to have opinions about suport, community and given this is a side hobby at first, I would love a machine with a community and library that is easy to get up and running with. I think Air Assist is a MUST, and I like that some models have extensions D1, A7 etc… but I will likey be doing this to start off in an enclosure in my house (So the other Xtool units come into play just for the ease of things). I would like to know your opinions. Please. There are fathers day sales going on and I’m ready to pull some trigger. Thank You

My opinion on only one aspect of your query is LightBurn all the way. There’s no “cutting teeth” on any other program, if the machine you select works with LightBurn. When LightBurn first appeared, I continued to use the native software, as it was the program with which I was familiar.

Once I dipped my toes into the LightBurn pool, I was hooked. Never went back, never regretted it.

It continues to get better and is worth every penny. I think it would be difficult to find a user who prefers a native program over LightBurn. In all my 'net travels, I’ve yet to see anything posted to that effect.