Newbie needs help engraving square file onto round coaster

Been at this for an hour searching and working and can’t seem to figure this out. I downloaded the pictured file. It is in SVG, JPG, PNG, etc…I want to engrave the image onto a 94mmx94mm coaster. However when I resize the image, it resizes the rectangle around the image. I need just the image itself to be a circular 94x94 so it engraves perfectly on the coaster. Is there a way to get the software to do this
so that the laser frames the circle with the image or do I have to just frame with the rectangle and try to put the coaster perfectly inside that rectangular frame to engrave the image? Thanks in advance!

I’m sure you have to trace it first, but as I’m fairly new at this I could be wrong, the file wood help…

Sorry. Really new at this. How do I upload the actual file here?

at the top of the reply page that I’m typing this on is an up arrow, click on that and you should be taken to your computer where you can locate your file… follow the instructions…

BearMontana

LOL. So when I click the up arrow and select the svg, it comes up blank I think?

Looks like I can send the jpg but not the svg

The easiest way to do this would be to mask the image.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply David…I had heard of Masking but never tried it…Now Brian can give it a try himself…

the laser will only engrave the image only whether its square or not so you could also just set it to the centre and go

Here is one suggestion :slightly_smiling_face:
First you trace it, use the bear and wright in the words and use the new warp tool on the text.
Montana Bear
Montana Bear.lbrn2 (811.4 KB)

Like that idea!! Thanks!

I thought you could drag/drop an svg on the edit window also …

If you have something you can’t upload, you can put it on something like Google Drive and just provide a link here… it works well for videos of mechanical problems… or anything over the standard 4mB upload limit.