No Light Emitting - Dual 150w Laser

Hi all. I am an absolute beginner to poking around with the machine and hoping some budding experts can help here.

We own a Golden Laser (Model CJGV160130LD) that has x2 dual-cantilever 150w lasers. We have had it for 2 years from new running with no issues. However halfway through a job yesterday the lasers stopped firing. The X and Y Axis do move in an attempt to cut the job, just no laser is firing.

It uses a Ruida Controller, has a Water Chiller with alarm connection (no seperate flow sensor). This is showing as all green and normal. The machine has two Laser Power Supplies (LSU) and when unplugging both of the 6pin green controller plugs and pressing the TEST buttons both lasers do fire but not when the controllers are plugged back in.

Its chinese new year this week so i am not getting an replies from the manufacturer as i normally do on whats app.

Does anyone have any ideas to help?

These have pretty simple interfacing, so it’s relatively easy to check with a voltmeter.

Whatever pwm value (or dc voltage) on the IN pin of the LPS is the current limit for the tube. When the L input goes low, it should lase…

Can you measure these?

Since it’s happening to both, I wonder what the common connection is.

Do you have the chiller wired to the LWP1 of the Ruida?

Do both lps have the P terminal grounded?

:smile_cat:

Hi Jack, thanks so much for your reply. Yes we have a chiller which is wired to the controller via wp and g i believe.

Don’t say this around the airport :crazy_face:

Mine lps doesn’t have a jack, but it looks like the WP (water protect) is doing something… I’d confirm that the P input is at ground level, this is it’s active state. If this is at ground, then you theoretically have coolant flow.

If you unplug the signal cables, does it change states?

While not plugged in, does the test button cause the tube to lase?