Noob: Trying to engrave small lettering on plastic then paint file, desperately need some advice!

Let me first say hello to this community and I’m vary happy to be here. I’m a complete noobie using a 50w OMTech machine. I hope someone can offer some advice to this problem which is not machine related but a job I’m doing and it’s related to paint on plastic.
I have side panels to cut and engrave for a case that’ll house electronics for an energy monitoring system.

I’m using High Imapact Polystyrene that is 1.8mm thick to make these side panels. There are various inputs/outputs so I need to engrave text, letters and numbers, then paint fill the text.

I’ve been using acrylic paint and engraving through masking tape but in this case, the letters are too small and after carefully weeding the masking tape off the results are just not clean and sharp enough. I can provide photos if required. Can anyone give me some ideas?

I found this with a quick search. If you’re using fill rather than line, it appears that it may not be the ideal method.

If you are satisfied with the unmasked results of your engraving, consider using a different method of masking. Apply ordinary glue stick, such as Elmer’s Washable Glue Stick. Apply as evenly as possible to ensure uniform engraving, perform the laser action and paint application. Once dry, the glue stick will wash off with water, more easily with warm water.

One could also use a similar product such as the Elmer’s glue spray, which would apply in a thinner layer but provide similar masking.

I’ve used the glue stick for unrelated but similar applications. Testing of your application is recommended before putting it in production.

1 Like

Many thanks for the suggestions Fred, you could be a life saver! I’ve tried both line and fill, experimenting with different fonts. I’ve downloaded some SHX fonts.

So, would I apply the glue layer before engraving the plastic, then apply the paint, let dry then wash off the glue layer?