Objects going through another object

Hi, I’m new to laser and lightburn and I’m really just trying to learn how to do everything and so I have a friend who has a logo that I’m trying to modify for engraving. There are some letters going through a guitar and some other misc shapes. The letters are filled so is there a way to remove unwanted and redundant shapes within the letters without removing the rest of the shape on the outside of the letters. The cut shape tool doesn’t seem to be working the way I thought it would. there might even be a forum already on this but wasn’t sure how to even search for it. any help is much appreciated.
avery and davis test.lbrn2 (321.2 KB)

Best if you can post file to look at.

The Boolean operations and/or Cut Shapes tool (perhaps with an adjustment to how you’re using it now) are likely what you’ll need to use for this. If you post the .lbrn2 file you’re working with here, we’ve got lots of helpful forum members who will be happy to give more direct advice — I will too, but others might beat me to it :slight_smile:

thank you. I meant to add the file with the original post. it is there now.

Is this what you want?

so inside the V, I, T, and A, I want to remove all the misc pieces inside those as the letters will be Fill and not line. They are, in my mind redundant to have inside there if the letters are fill anyway. maybe its not even a big deal and I’m thinking too deep into it. I haven’t tried engraving it yet.

I used ‘Cut Shapes’ to produce the following. Grouped all the text, and made the guitar a group as well. Used the outermost guitar shape as the cutter.

avery and davis test02.lbrn2 (464.8 KB)

I think he wants it the other way with nothing in the letters
Node edit is all I can think of, but must be an easy way I haven’t thought of yet.
Or can you just use letters to cut?

Ah, ok. One sec…

Update: Group text and duplicate. Select the original text group and the Guitar group, then Boolean Subtract.