OMTech AF2435 (Ruida) LB v1.3.01 won't connect via TCP

I’m just replacing an FSL Pro24x36 with a brand new OMTech AF2435. I’ve set up the IP address on the OMTech (Ruida) controller. The Laser and PC are both hardwired to the network. I can ping the Laser but Lightburn refuses to connect with it. It continually says “No Device Detected” or “Waiting for Connection”.

I have been a network engineer since the 80’s (Novell CNE, Microsoft CNE) so I’m confident in my network integrity. The FSL Laser which this unit replaces used the same ethernet cable and PC. Using an RFC1918 Class B Network Address of 172.20.0.0 / 255.255.0.0 and gateway of 172.20.1.1. The PC and the Laser are on the same network so gateway should be irrelevant. The laser’s address is 172.20.8.1. The PC is 172.20.100.4. (Its interesting that there is no subnet mask configuration available on the Ruida controller).

In any case, my PC CAN ping the laser. Its just that Lightburn will not connect to it. (…and I’ve checked my LB device/network config several times…)

Anyone have any ideas?

I don’t have your time on a network, but I’d think the mask needs to be 255.255.255.0 ?

Actually I thought the Ruida uses UDP/IP, not TCP/IP. ?

:smile_cat:

I’m pretty certain you’re the only person in this forum running a class B network on a 172.16.0.0/12 address block so interesting to see.

Have you checked the trace route from PC to controller?

Also, as Jack indicated, Ruida does not communicate on TCP but uses UDP instead.

Do you possibly have any filtering rules blocking those packets?

No… A 172 network, set up as a Class-B (the default) uses 255.255.0.0 (/16)

I’ve been building (and selling) networks for many years…

The Ruida controller doesn’t ask for a subnet configuration in any case which is very unusual!