Ortur Laser Master 2 20W (2021 version) not recognizd or responding to Chromebook running Linux

I’m running Lightburn Linux on my 2020 Chroembook. I’ve successfully installed the software and manually added the Ortur Laser Master 2, but it isn’t responding. I’ve gotten the laser to work using the Mac version of Lightburn on a Mac laptop, but now I’m struggling to get it to notify the laser on the Linux version.

I am able to open and run the software and manually add the laser on my Chromebook, but the laser doesn’t respond. I enabled Linux, successfully ran the command to adduser dialout and tty; I’ve also updated and upgraded my linux terminal; i’ve manually added the Ortur Laser Master 2 20W (2021) to lightburn, but it isn’t communicating with the laser even though the laser indicator lights are changing colors (Green and Purple) when I plug them in to the USB.

Any help is appreciated. I am new to Linux. Thanks.

What does it mean to log out and log back in? Does that mean log out of light burn and log back in? Or does it mean logging out and in to the Linux Terminal? New to Linux. Got the software up and running on my Chromebook. The color on the board are green and pink, but it’s not responding.

Thanks.

When i plug the laser in to my mac, i select the laser, and then the drop down menu next to “Devices” fills in and says “cu.usbmodem00…”. When I plug in to my chromebook, the drop down menu next “Devices” remains as “Choose” with no other options.

On a normal Linux computer when someone says to log out and log back in it means Linux. Since you are running Linux inside a virtual machine on a Chromebook, you might get away with closing the terminal window and starting a new one. There is no login for LightBurn.

I know my way around Linux pretty well so hear are a few things to try and verify things are setup.

After you add your user to the dialout group, exit the terminal and start a new one then type “groups” to see if dialout is in the list of groups.